Religious Education

Religious education contributes dynamically by provoking challenging questions about meaning and purpose in life, beliefs about God, ultimate reality, issues of right and wrong and what it means to be human, in local, national and global contexts. To discover, explore and consider different answers to these questions. All students need to acquire core knowledge and understanding of the beliefs and practices of the religions and worldviews which not only shape their history and culture, but which guide their own development.

The National Curriculum for RE aims to ensure that all pupils:

  • Know about and understand a range of religions and worldviews

  • Can describe, explain and analyse beliefs and practices, recognising the diversity which exists within and between communities and amongst individuals

  • Identify, investigate and respond to questions posed and offer responses

  • Express ideas and insights about the nature, significance and impact of religions and worldviews

  • Critically respond to questions and teachings about identity, diversity, meaning and value, including ethical issues

Key Stage 3 - Years 7 and 8

All six world religions are taught at KS3 focusing on three world religions each year to provide understanding and expertise on each. With an in depth focus on Islam and Christianity to help bridge the gap between KS3 and KS4 and form a solid foundation of knowledge for students when starting their GCSE topics.

Year 7 - Study of Religion

Term 1: Christianity
Term 2: Islam
Term 3: Judaism

Year 8 - Study of Religion and Themes

Term 1: Hinduism
Term 2: Buddhism
Term 3: Sikhism

Years 9

Students begin their GCSE studies in Year 9 for Religious Studies. Initially students cover a unit of study enabling them to develop exam skills and embed content knowledge, making links between their study at KS3 and the requirements of the GCSE course.

Key Stage 4

Qualification: GCSE Religious Studies

Examination Board: AQA

Students will have the opportunity to study two of the major religions – Christianity and Islam and their differing approach to various aspects of life in the UK.

They will study two units in total.

Component 1: The study of religions: Beliefs and Teachings and Practices of Christianity and Islam.

Component 2: Thematic studies: Four religious, philosophical and ethical studies.

Themes covered are:

Theme B - Religion and life

Theme D - Religion, peace and conflict

Theme E - Religion, crime and punishment

Theme F – Human Rights and Social Justice

There will be 100% written examinations.

There are two exams in Year 11 – one exam for Component 1; one exam for Component 2.

Students will be assessed according to specific skills such as literacy, expressing their own opinion and supporting it with reasons, demonstrating knowledge and understanding of religious beliefs and teachings, as well as evaluating alternative views.